Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote away!

7 February 2013

Help find the Owls' best goal of 2012!


The Football League have launched their search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012.


Clubs can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2012 calendar year and Sheffield Wednesday are asking fans to help decide the club nomination!


The shortlist has been narrowed down to seven goals - click here to cast your vote!


GOAL 1 – RHYS McCABE v Charlton (22.12.12)



The Owls midfielder blasted his volley into the top corner to send Wednesday on their way to a 2-0 win over the Addicks.


GOAL 2 – MICHAIL ANTONIO v Burnley (2.10.12)



Antonio rescued a point at Turf Moor with a delightful chip into the back of the net to make the score 3-3.


GOAL 3 – JERMAINE JOHNSON v Millwall (25.08.12)



Johnson made an explosive start to the 2012/13 campaign and bagged a fine goal against the Lions at Hillsborough, picking up possession from the halfway line before marauding upfield and blasting into the top corner.


GOAL 4 – MICHAIL ANTONIO v Wycombe (5.5.12)



38,000 fans at Hillsborough witnessed Antonio power through on goal against Wycombe on the final day of last season and score the opening goal which sent the Owls on their way to victory and on their way to the Championship.


GOAL 5 – MICHAIL ANTONIO v Carlisle (21.4.12)


Antonio’s 95th minute winner against Carlisle at Hillsborough ultimately proved key in the Owls' battle for promotion.


GOAL 6 – MIGUEL LLERA v Huddersfield (7.4.12)



Llera’s stunning free kick from distance against the Terriers in West Yorkshire was the turning point in the game – with plenty riding on the top of the table derby clash.


GOAL 7 – CHRIS O’GRADY  v Sheffield United (26.2.12)



O’Grady rounded off an excellent surge forward with an unstoppable header into the far corner to claim three points for the Owls in the Steel City derby.


Closing date for responses is Monday 11 February.


The SWFC nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013. 


Advertisement block