Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Waddle wins for Wednesday!

17 April 2014

Chris Waddle has been voted as Sheffield Wednesday’s greatest player by Owls fans in a poll conducted as part of The Football League's 125th Anniversary celebrations.

Waddle took 39 per cent of the vote, narrowly ahead of David Hirst’s 38 per cent following a glittering four-year spell that saw the exciting winger bring his stylish brand of football to Hillsborough.

He was named the Football Writers’ Association’s Player of the Year in his first season, and made nearly 150 appearances in his four years in S6.

Waddle and Hirst came out clear of Derek Dooley, Ron Springett and Andrew Wilson in the voting.

The vote for Wednesday’s greatest captain went to Nigel Pearson, who led the Owls to promotion from the Second Division in 1991, the year he also lifted the League Cup at Wembley.

Pearson took 52 per cent to beat Lee Bullen, Don Megson, Mick Lyons and Ernie Blenkinsop to the honour.

Ron Atkinson was the man in the managerial hot-seat for those glories of 1991, the last of his two seasons at Hillsborough, and his spell was enough to earn him 57 per cent of the vote as the club’s greatest manager ahead of Jack Charlton and Howard Wilkinson.

That memorable 1990/91 season picked up the vote as the Owls’ best on 78 per cent, a long way ahead of 1928/29 and 1983/84.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to vote.

Advertisement block