Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Capital One Cup draw details

13 August 2014

The draw for the second round of the Capital One Cup takes place this evening following the live televised clash between Cardiff and Coventry.

The game has significance for Wednesday and will determine whether the Owls are seeded or unseeded for the draw.

Should Cardiff win and advance, the Owls will be unseeded for the second round draw.

Should Coventry advance, then Wednesday will be seeded.

Thirteen Premier League clubs enter the competition at this stage, with the remaining seven joining in round three as they are involved in European competition.

The top 12 Football League clubs still in the competition, based on last season’s standings, will join the 13 Premier League clubs as seeds.

Seeded teams and draw numbers
1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Aston Villa
3. Bolton Wanderers
4. Brighton & Hove Albion
5. Burnley
6. Crystal Palace
7. Derby County
8. Fulham
9. Leeds United
10. Leicester City
11. Manchester United
12. Middlesbrough
13. Newcastle United
14. Norwich City
15. Nottingham Forest
16. Queens Park Rangers
17. Reading
18. Southampton
19. Stoke City
20. Sunderland
21. Swansea City
22. Watford
23. West Bromwich Albion
24. West Ham United
25. Cardiff City or Sheffield Wednesday

Unseeded teams

Birmingham City
Bradford City
Burton Albion
Charlton Athletic
Crawley Town
Crewe Alexandra
Doncaster Rovers
Huddersfield Town
Leyton Orient
Milton Keynes Dons
Northampton Town
Oxford United
Port Vale
Preston North End
Rotherham United
Scunthorpe United
Shrewsbury Town
Swindon Town
Sheffield United / Mansfield Town
Sheffield Wednesday or Coventry City

Advertisement block