Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Chris Maguire speaks on controversial incident

23 November 2014

Chris Maguire has spoken exclusively to following the controversial penalty incident at Huddersfield on Saturday.

The Owls’ substitute went down in the box under a challenge from Joel Lynch, who certainly appeared to make contact late in the Championship stalemate.

And Maguire echoed that sentiment:

“It was a penalty, a definite penalty. I knocked the ball on and I was tripped, it was as simple as that.

“It all happened so quickly. When you are tripped like that there is nothing that goes through your mind other than ‘that’s a penalty’.

“We were live on Sky, there was no way I would take a dive, it would have been embarrassing in front of the nation.

“It was a foul, it was stonewall, but the referee didn’t give it and there’s nothing we can do about it.

“To make matters worse I was booked and that’s a card that cannot be taken away and a card on my record.”

Advertisement block