Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Westwood in PFA Championship Team of the Year

26 April 2015

Keiren Westwood has been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Championship Team of the Year.

Westwood takes his place between the sticks in the prestigious XI that is voted for by players plying their trade in the same division.

Inclusion in the PFA Team of the Year ranks as one of the highest accolades for players, with the voting process involving fellow professionals.

The 30-year-old was also crowned as the Player of the Year on Friday – as voted for by Wednesday supporters – and received his trophy on Saturday at Hillsborough.

Westwood has been part of an Owls side that has kept 17 league clean sheets this term, which equals a club record set in 1978/79.

Congratulations, Keiren!

Below is the full PFA Championship Team of the Year:

Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday); Simon Francis (Bournemouth), Russell Martin (Norwich), Richard Keogh (Derby), George Friend (Middlesbrough); Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth), Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough), Bakary Sako (Wolves), Alex Pritchard (Brentford); Troy Deeney (Watford), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich).

Advertisement block