Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Runners and riders confirmed for the 2015/16 Sky Bet Championship

25 May 2015

  • Hull suffer final day heartbreak
  • Preston promoted through the play-offs
  • Norwich reach the Premier League at Middlesbrough's expense

The runners and riders for the 2015/16 Sky Bet Championship campaign are now confirmed.

Following a tense final day in the Premier League, Hull City dropped into the second tier on Survival Sunday, joining Burnley and QPR.

The Tigers faced the huge task of having to defeat Manchester United in the knowledge even that may not have been enough to spare relegation.

Newcastle were favourites to avoid the drop with a two-point lead over Hull at the start of play.

Despite a spirited display on home soil, Hull could only manage a goalless draw with the Reds, who were reduced to ten men following Marouane Fellaini’s second half dismissal.

As events transpired, the Magpies took matters into their own hands and defeated West Ham 2-0 at St James’ Park.

John Carver’s side looked in real danger of suffering relegation to the Championship after nine defeats from ten leading up to the final day.

But a towering header from Moussa Sissoko and an emotional farewell strike from Jonas Gutierrez ensured Premier League football next season on Tyneside.

Meanwhile, Preston secured an emphatic return to the Championship after brushing aside Swindon 4-0 in the League 1 play-off final.

Jermaine Beckford was too hot to handle for the Robins as the former Leeds man struck a hat-trick in the Wembley final, with Paul Huntington also on target.

The Lilywhites were relegated from the Championship in 2010/11 but can now look forward to second tier football after a four-year absence.

And finally, the Sky Bet Championship reached its climax on Bank Holiday Monday as Norwich put Middlesbrough to the sword in the play-off final.

Goals from Cameron Jerome and Nathan Redmond secured the Canaries’ return to the big time at the expense of Boro, who will agonisingly have it all to do again in the Championship next term.


PROMOTED FROM LEAGUE 1: Bristol City, MK Dons, Preston


Advertisement block